Return to all list

Belgian Fashion Awards 2019 Fashion - 21 November 2019

On  November 21st, the winners of the Belgian Fashion Awards have been announced. The award ceremony is a unique opportunity to celebrate our wonderful Belgian fashion.

Its reputation on a national and international level, its creativity and its diversity deserve to be placed in the spotlight. At the same time, we want to celebrate those who work behind the scenes and honour lesser known names and new talent. After all, Belgian fashion is not just independent, avant-garde and no-nonsense, but often very modest. This third edition of the Belgian Fashion Awards was organised by Knack Weekend, Le Vif Weekend, Flanders DC (Flanders District of Creativity), MAD, Home of Creators and WBDM (Wallonie-Bruxelles Design Mode).

The Awards in the seven categories

  • The Jury Prize : Dirk Van Saene - who always follows his own path and rhythm. The jury emphasises the importance of his current and past work, his creative talent and the way he translates it into fashion, painting and ceramics. As one of the Antwerp Six, he is part of an important piece of Belgian fashion history, and as teacher at the Antwerp Fashion Academy he has great impact on the Masters students and the next generation of fashion designers.

  • Designer of the year : Christian Wijnants - The jury praises him for staying true to his DNA in a fashion world dictated by trends. His research into materials, and knitwear in particular, remains impressive. This year, he has added shoes and a knitwear collection for men to his label. His business grows in a steady, impressive way. 

  • Professional of the year : Pierre Debusschere, photographer - he manages to create strong images for his clients, yet giving them his own original signature. 

  • Entrepreneur of the year Sofie D’Hoore & Chantal Spaas - for their extensive international success and the very organic way in which they are building a business with a double signature.  

  • Emerging talent of the year Namacheko - the jury was impressed by the rapid international growth of this brand that moved to Antwerp in 2019. The duo Dilan and Lezar Lurr, twin brother and sister born in Iraqi Kurdistan and raised in Sweden, designed a powerful collection that is sold in top boutiques all over the world. 

  • Fashion brand of the year :  Arte - the general public could choose their favourite from a final selection of 10 Belgian brands.

  • Most promising graduate :Quinten Mestdagh (Académie d'Anvers), Bart Lapere (KASK Gand), Samuel Quertinmont (La Cambre Mode(s)), Maria Ossaba SASK (Sint Niklaas), Thurel Thonet (Helmo), Eve Delperdange (Francisco Ferrer), Dominique Rocour (Château Massart) - This year, the jury didn’t choose a winner because they feel the seven selected finalists all deserve the title. The jury declares that they find the candidates very strong individuals who give a great overview of what our various Belgian fashion schools have to offer. 

Dirk Van Saene, Jury Prize (c) Fille Roelants

Christian Wijnants, Designer of the year with Glenn Martens and Wim Vanlessen (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Arte, brand of the year with DJ Kid Noize (c) Fille Roelants

Pierre Debusschere, photographer, Professional of the year, with Marcus Paul, stylist from NY and Jeroen de Pessemier, musician (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Namacheko, twins Dilan and Lezar Lurr, Emerging Talent of the Year (c) Fille Roelants

Sofie D’Hoore and Chantal Spaas, Entrepreneur of the Year with jury member Sonja Noël and gallerist Sofie van de Velde (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Emergin talents of the Year (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Retour à la liste complète

Belgian Fashion Awards 2019 Mode - 21 novembre 2019

Ce 21 novembre, les Belgian Fashion Awards ont été décernés, dans le cadre enchanteur de la Bourse d’Anvers. Cette cérémonie a été  l’occasion de célébrer la mode belge.

De par sa réputation nationale comme internationale, sa créativité et sa diversité, celle-ci mérite amplement sa place sous le feu des projecteurs. Aujourd’hui, nous voulons aussi attirer l’attention sur les acteurs de l’ombre et mettre en avant des noms moins connus et des nouveaux talents. La mode belge n’est pas seulement indépendante, avant-gardiste et pratique, elle est également modeste et se fait parfois trop discrète. Cette troisième édition des Belgian Fashion Awards est organisée par Knack Weekend, Le Vif Weekend, Flanders DC (Flanders District of Creativity), MAD, Home of Creators et WBDM (Wallonie-Bruxelles Design Mode).

Voici les gagnants des sept catégories :

  • The Jury Prize : Dirk Van Saene - pour sa créativité et son originalité. Le jury tient à mettre l’accent sur l’importance de son travail dans le passé mais aussi pour l’avenir, ainsi que sur son talent créatif et sa façon de l’exprimer tant dans la mode que dans l’art et la céramique. Membre des Six d’Anvers, il a écrit une page de l’histoire de la mode belge. En tant que professeur à l’Académie d’Anvers, il façonne les futures générations de stylistes. 

  • Designer of the year : Christian Wijnants - Le jury salue sa constance et sa fidélité envers son propre univers, à une époque où les tendances dominent le monde de la mode. Ses recherches de textures, avec une préférence pour les mailles, impressionnent. Cette année, il a également lancé une gamme de chaussures et de pulls pour homme. Son label ne cesse de grandir.

  • Professional of the year : Pierre Debusschere, photographe - qui offre à ses clients des images fortes avec une touche originale.

  • Entrepreneur of the year : Sofie D’Hoore et Chantal Spaas - pour leur succès mondial et leur manière naturelle de gérer leur entreprise tout en lui apportant une signature très personnelle. 

  • Emerging talent of the year : Namachekopour son succès international grandissant. Les jumeaux Dilan et Lezar Lurr, nés au Kurdistan et élevés en Suède, ont déménagé à Anvers en 2019. Ensemble, ils ont imaginé une collection forte, disponible dans les meilleures boutiques du monde entier.

  • Fashion brand of the year :  Arte - Le grand public a pu voter pour son favori parmi une sélection de dix marques belges.

  • Most promising graduate :Quinten Mestdagh (Académie d'Anvers), Bart Lapere (KASK Gand), Samuel Quertinmont (La Cambre Mode(s)), Maria Ossaba SASK (Sint Niklaas), Thurel Thonet (Helmo), Eve Delperdange (Francisco Ferrer), Dominique Rocour (Château Massart) - Cette année, le jury n’a pas pu choisir un lauréat car chacun des sept nominés mérite ce titre. Le jury ajoute qu’il a vu des candidats avec des points forts individuels impressionnants qui laissent entrevoir la qualité de l’enseignement en Belgique. 

Dirk Van Saene, Jury Prize (c) Fille Roelants

Christian Wijnants, Designer of the year with Glenn Martens and Wim Vanlessen (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Arte, brand of the year with DJ Kid Noize (c) Fille Roelants

Pierre Debusschere, photographer, Professional of the year, with Marcus Paul, stylist from NY and Jeroen de Pessemier, musician (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Namacheko, twins Dilan and Lezar Lurr, Emerging Talent of the Year (c) Fille Roelants

Sofie D’Hoore and Chantal Spaas, Entrepreneur of the Year with jury member Sonja Noël and gallerist Sofie van de Velde (c) J. Van Belle - WBI

Emergin talents of the Year (c) J. Van Belle - WBI