Return to all list

Belgium is Design @ Milan Fuorisalone Digital 15 > 21.06.2020 Design - 28 April 2020

Covid-19, lockdowns and social distancing. For the first time in more than fifty years, the Milan Furniture Fair (Salone del Mobile) has been cancelled.
The space has been closed off, time is suspended. We have to face up to our fragility and our shortfalls, our fears, our grief, so uncertainty is inevitable. It is the time when we have to rethink our actions, observe our surroundings and listen intently: nature on the one side, on the other the silence which surrounds our cities. This slowing down offers another advantage: critical reflection which prevents active participation, between empathy and politics. This is what we can learn from design.

We are starting off from this pretext, our participation. The institutions which are involved in the promotion of Belgian design – Wallonie-Bruxelles Design Mode, Flanders DC for Design and MAD - Home of Creators – have in fact chosen to reconnect the designers and industry thanks to the site belgiumisdesign.be and the platform Fuorisalone.it, showing great solidarity to the profession, the economy, cohesion, and above all support for the values of ‘public service’, now more than ever.

Belgium is Design website presents a special showcase of products and key players from the Belgian design world.       

Moreover, membership to the platform Fuorisalone Digital adds an extremely important meaning: Milan’s Design Week is not only about business and commissions, but it is also about sharing an experience, within context and a timeframe. The Design System needs to be protected. On the other hand, Design needs to become involved in redesigning the System.

TALK: REDESIGNING THE SYSTEM

With regards to this theme, Belgium is Design will organise a talk on June 15th at 6pm. A virtual roundtable, moderated by Giovanna Massoni, questioning the way Belgian designers and companies reflect on the consequences of this very particular moment.

The speakers:

Alok Nandi, Managing Director-Partner of Spread Design BV / Past President of IxDA / Entrepreneur Strategist Author Speaker Educator - www.aloknandi.net

Alain Gilles, designer, he collaborates with several international companies such as Bonaldo, La Chance, Evolution, Buzzispace, Ligne Roset, XL Boom, Vincent Sheppard, Another country and many others - www.alaingilles.com

Jan Ameloot, co-owner of Delta Light
Delta Light – a Belgian family business since 1989 – designs and manufactures architectural lighting and collaborates with architects, designers, contractors and investors to integrate light into their projects - www.deltalight.com

Contact

info@belgiumisdesign.be



Partners for this activity

Flanders DC and MAD House of Creators

Retour à la liste complète

Belgium is Design @ Milan Fuorisalone Digital 15 > 21.06.2020 Design - 28 avril 2020

Covid-19, confinement et gestes barrière. Pour la première fois depuis plus de cinquante ans, le Salon du Meuble est annulé.
L'espace est confiné, le temps est suspendu. Nous devons, c'est inévitable, assumer notre fragilité et notre inadéquation, faire face à la peur, au deuil et à l'incertitude. C'est le moment de réfléchir et de repenser, d'observer et de rester à l'écoute : de la nature, de l'autre, du silence qui enveloppe nos villes. Cette lenteur nous offre un autre avantage : la réflexion critique qui précède l'acte participatif, entre empathie et politique. Le design nous l'apprend.

Et c'est de cette hypothèse que nous repartons, en participant. Les institutions impliquées dans la promotion du design belge - Wallonie-Bruxelles Design Mode, Flanders DC for Design et MAD - Home of Creators - ont choisi de reconnecter les designers et les entreprises autour du site belgiumisdesign.be et de la plateforme Fuorisalone.it, faisant preuve d'une grande solidarité pour la profession, l'économie, la cohésion, la créativité et, surtout, pour soutenir plus que jamais les valeurs de "service public".

Le site Belgium is Design  présente une vitrine spéciale de produits et de protagonistes du design belge.

En outre, l'adhésion à Fuorisalone Digital ajoute un sens extrêmement important : la Design Week de Milan n'est pas seulement une manifestation commerciale, mais aussi le partage d'une expérience, d'un contexte et d'une temporalité. Le Système Design doit être sauvegardé. Le Design, pour sa part, doit s'engager à redéfinir le Système.

TABLE RONDE : REDESIGNING THE SYSTEM

C'est précisément sur ce thème que Belgium is Design organise le 15 juin à 18h00 une une table ronde viruelle, animée par Giovanna Massoni, où des designers et des entrepreneurs belges réfléchissent aux conséquences de ce moment très particulier.

Un engagement social plus large du design? La nécessité de déplacer / réduire la production et d'agir pour une consommation plus responsable? Et qu'en est-il des avantages et des inconvénients d'un monde globalisé et des événements internationaux?

Les orateurs:

Alok Nandi, directeur général associé de Spread Design BV / ancien président d'IxDA / entrepreneur stratège auteur conférencier enseignant - www.aloknandi.net

Alain Gilles, designer, il collabore avec plusieurs sociétés internationales telles que Bonaldo, La Chance, Evolution, Buzzispace, Ligne Roset, XL Boom, Vincent Sheppard, Another country et bien d'autres - www.alaingilles.com

Jan Ameloot, Delta Light, copropriétaire de l'entreprise
Delta Light - une entreprise familiale belge depuis 1989 - conçoit et fabrique des éclairages architecturaux et collabore avec des architectes, designers, entrepreneurs et investisseurs pour intégrer la lumière dans leurs projets - www.deltalight.com

15 juin de 18h00 à 19h00 - Live sur Fuorisalone.tv

Contact

info@belgiumisdesign.be



En collaboration avec

Flanders DC et MAD House of Creators